10 Emblematic Argentine Writers

Brief report on the 10 emblematic Argentine writers. The 10 Argentine Writers of All Time, whose work was a turning point in the history of Argentine literature; and the 10 most representative works that are inscribed as fundamental in Argentine literature.

Esteban Echeverría (1805-1851)

Retrato de Esteban Echeverría
Esteban Echeverría

His story El Matadero is considered the [highlight] first story in Argentine literature [/ highlight]. It was published in 1876, more than twenty years after his death, and anticipated the realistic narrative of our country.

Domingo Faustino Sarmiento (1811-1888)

Domingo Faustino Sarmiento. Retrato por N. Desmadryl
Domingo Faustino Sarmiento

Facundo, a work published in 1845, constitutes the first attempt to address the national reality. His serious and passionate language proposes an interpretive scheme of civilization or barbarism.

José Hernández (1834-1886)

Retrato de José Hernandez
José Hernandez

His great national epic poem Martín Fierro, published in two parts 1872 and 1879, is an example of the synthesis of popular gaucho tradition and high literature.

Ricardo Güiraldes (1886-1927)

Retrato de Ricardo Güiraldes
Ricardo Güiraldes

The novel Don Segundo Sombra, published in San Antonio de Areco in 1926, evokes the gaucho, his values, and Argentine tradition.

Roberto Arlt (1900-1942)

Retrato de Roberto Arlt
Roberto Arlt

His novel El Juguete Rabioso, published in 1926, incorporates the language of the street and the conflicts of marginalization into literature.

Ezequiel Martínez Estrada (1895-1964)

Retrato de Ezequiel Martinez Estrada
Ezequiel Martinez Estrada

His work Radiografía de la Pampa, National Prize in 1933, analyzes the Argentine reality where the interior of the country is confronted with the port of Buenos Aires.

Adolfo Bioy Casares (1914-1999)

Retrato de Adolfo Bioy Casares
Adolfo Bioy Casares

His novel La Invención de Morel received the National Prize of 1940. The author stood out for his fantastic stories, police and science fiction. He obtained the Miguel de Cervantes Prize in 1990.

Jorge Luis Borges (1899-1985)

Entrevista a Jorge Luis Borges
Jorge Luis Borges

The book of short stories Ficciones, published in 1944, included Borges in universal literature.

Ernesto Sábato ( 1911-2011)

Retrato de Ernesto Sabato
Ernesto Sabato

He is the author of the novel Sobre Héroes y Tumbas published in 1961. He was awarded the Cervantes Prize in 1993.

Julio Cortazar (1914-1984)

Retrato de Julio Cortazar
Julio Cortazar

Author of Rayuela published in 1963, he forever changed Argentine literature by breaking down the frontiers between the fantastic and the real.

The full version of this report is available in Spanish >>