Dimensions of Argentina: Surface area, Length, Perimeter

Argentina has a territory of amazing dimensions, located in the southern part of South America. In this report we will describe the surface area of Argentina measured in kilometers. We will also present other interesting facts about the extension and size of our territory as: length, borders, and coasts. Of course we will show the bordering countries and extreme points

Argentina Location

South América Map

As we say before, Argentina is located in southern South America. With regard to Ecuador is located to the south; and west from the meridian of Greenwich. It is a bi-continental country, since it occupies part of South America, which corresponds to the emerged American portion; and a portion of Antarctica.

As can be seen on the map, it borders 5 countries: Chile, Bolivia, Paraguay, Brazil and Uruguay.

See more about geographic regions >>
Here you will find location maps, surface area and population of each provinces >>

Argentina Surface Area

Argentina is the 1st in surface area, among the Spanish-speaking countries. The 2nd largest area -after Brazil- in South America. Finally, it is the 8th largest country in the world.

  • The total area of Argentina is approximately 6,500,000 km2, including the emerged part and the continental shelf, whose expansion was recently made official. according to CONVEMAR.
  • The total area of ​​the emerged part of Argentina is 3,761,274 km², of which 2,791,810 km² correspond to the American Continent and 969,464 km² to the Antarctic Continent (including the South Orkney Islands) and the southern islands (Georgia del Sur and Sandwich del Sur).
  • The Argentine Sea has a surface area of ​​940,000 km2 and covers the American continental shelf up to 200 m deep, from the Río de la Plata to the Malvinas Islands inclusive.
  • The submarine continental shelf is 1,700,000 km2, we refer to the area between 200 nautical miles and the outer limit.

The continental shelf over which Argentina exercises sovereign rights for the purposes of exploring and exploiting its natural resources, comprises the seabed and subsoil of the submarine areas that extend beyond its territorial sea and throughout the natural prolongation of its territory.

Plataforma Argentina
Bicontinental map of Argentina, with Provinces
The Argentine Republic is made up of 23 provinces and an autonomous city. The Autonomous City of Buenos Aires is the Federal Capital of Argentina.
Argentina Bicontinental shelf
Bicontinental map of Argentina, presented to the National Commission of the Outer Limit of the Continental Shelf – Law 24.815 (COPLA) on April 21, 2009

Area of the Argentine Antarctic Sector

In other words, Argentina claims sovereignty over the Malvinas Islands, South Georgia Islands, South Sandwich Islands, South Orkney Islands and the Argentine Antarctic Sector. In fact, they make up the Province of Tierra del Fuego, Antarctica and the South Atlantic Islands. Meanwhile, the Foreign Ministry on the page corresponding to the Argentine Antarctic Sector, expresses the following:

Argentina reaffirms sovereignty over the Argentine Antarctic Sector extending between the 25th and 74th meridians of west longitude, south of the 60th parallel of south latitude.

Ministry of Foreign Affairs: Antarctica

Surface Area of the Continental Shelf

Argentina expanded its surface area by 35%. The new limits of the Continental Shelf of Argentina managed for 19 years in the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (CONVEMAR) expand the shelf by 1,783,278 Km2 (Source: www.casarosada.gov.ar, International Law)

What Is the Continental Shelf?

The continental shelf over which Argentina exercises sovereign rights for the purposes of exploring and exploiting its natural resources, comprises the seabed and subsoil of the submarine areas that extend beyond its territorial sea and throughout the natural prolongation of its territory.

COPLA Definition

Both preceding maps show the limit of the Argentine Sea, and the outer limit of the continental shelf of Argentina, as presented by the Commission on the Outer Limit of the Continental Shelf COPLA in the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (CONVEMAR) . The report before the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf of April 21, 2009, was subsequently modified, achieving an increase in surface area of 1,633 km2. Finally, on August 25, 2020, Argentina promulgated the Law 27,757 on Maritime Spaces.

Argentina Size

Still, considering only the dimensions of the Argentine territory under effective sovereignty, its wide latitudinal development makes it one of the longest countries in the world.

N-S Length

Argentina length in the North-South direction is 3,694 km. It has a wide territorial development in the sense of its latitude, whose extreme points are in the province of Jujuy and Isla Grande of Tierra del Fuego. (Source: IGN)

E-O Width

The Argentina continental maximum width is 1408 km in an east-west direction measured at Latitude 27º 31 ’S. (Source: IGN)

The highest Peak

1st highest peak in Argentina is Aconcagua (6960.8 masl), Cordillera de los Andes, Province of Mendoza. It is the highest peak in all of America and the 2nd in the world, only surpassed by some of the Himalayan peaks. (Source: CONAE)

The biggest Depression

1st most depressed point in Argentina, is the Gran Bajo de San Julián (105 m under nm), Laguna del Carbón, Santa Cruz. It is the most depressed place in the American continent, and 5th in the world (Source: SEGEMAR Repository

Extension of the Perimeter of Argentina

Argentina has an extensive perimeter of 14,493 km, only in its emerged American continental part, made up of its 9,376 km of border and 5117 km of coastline.

Length of Borders

The length of borders with neighboring countries constitutes a total of 9376 km, corresponding in decreasing order 5,308 km to Chile, 1,699 km to Paraguay, 1,132 km to Brazil, 742 km to Bolivia, and 495 km to Uruguay

Length of Coastline

The perimeter of the mainland coast of landmass is 5,117 km and consists of fluvial coast of Rio de la Plata and the Atlantic coast with 4,725 km.

Antarctica Argentina and southern islands have a perimeter of 11,235 km

Argentina Borders

  • North:
    North Argentina shares borders with two countries, the Plurinational State of Bolivia and the Republic of Paraguay.
  • South:
    Argentina is bordered on the south by the Republic of Chile and South Atlantic Ocean.
  • East:
    Argentina borders with the Federative Republic of Brazil, the Oriental Republic of Uruguay and the natural boundary of the South Atlantic Ocean.
  • West:
    The western boundary is formed by the long border that exists with the Republic of Chile.

Extreme Points of Argentina

The endpoints of the Argentine territory in the American mainland emerged:

  • North:
    The northernmost point is in the province of Jujuy in the confluence of the Grande de San Juan and Mojinete.
  • South:
    To the south, the end point is in Cape San Pío of the Isla Grande de Tierra del Fuego belonging to the province of Tierra del Fuego, Antarctica and South Atlantic Islands.
  • East:
    The end point of this limit, is located in the town of Misiones in Bernardo de Irigoyen.
  • West:
    While the west end is in the province of Santa Cruz, in Los Glaciares National Park

The endpoints of the Argentine territory, part of the Antarctic:

  • They consist of the meridians 25º and 74º W, parallel 60º south and 90º south (South Pole). Which in turn limits set comprising the national territory in Antarctica Argentina.
  • National Geographic Institute: Official information in Argentina